So I’m not going to have any boobs – do I really need a bra?

The answer is I don’t know just yet.

bras

I’ve never really been one for fancy lingerie. Every once in a blue moon I will buy a pair of matching underwear, which very quickly becomes non-matching when I wear my new favourite bra 50 x more than the new matching pants. Much to my boyfriend’s dismay, I’m a little partial to big, comfortable pants and knowing I’m about to undergo a radical change in breast size, I have held off buying new bras to replace my existing ones that are pretty much falling apart.

However, I am a planner and so questions as to, do I need bras for after surgery and how soon do I need them, are currently on my agenda.

What I do know?

  • I know I can’t wear anything with under-wire because of the wounds and stitches
  • I know I should get one that does up at the front as I’m likely to have limited movement in my arms

What I don’t know (and this is the long one)?

  • Do I wear a bra straight away? Some sources say you do and that I’ll need to sleep in one for a while? Other sources say it depends on the individual and what the surgeon advises
  • Will the hospital give me a bra or should I have a couple ready for the hospital?
  • Do I need to get a bra the size of where my reconstruction will end up or do I go conservative for more support?
  • And the one that’s flummoxed me: Once all is well and I have a new set of boobs, do I need to wear a bra ever again? Christina Applegate, who was diagnosed with cancer and then found she had a BRCA gene mutation made this claim on Oprah and I don’t really know how I feel about it. http://www.oprah.com/health/Christina-Applegates-Breast-Cancer-Battle

Part of being a woman is wearing a bra and you never forget how happy, not to mention relieved you were when you could finally justify wearing one. And whilst I am a big fan of being able to go sans boulder-holder to the coffee shop on a Sunday morning, I’d don’t know how I’d feel about doing that on a daily basis. You never know, having my current boobies taken away from me, I may treat my new ones a little better and invest in something nice to carry them in.

Myself and Mr F are off to the plastic surgeon next week so I will endeavour to find out as much as I can.  In the meantime, I am impatient and love to be prepared, so I’m going to buy a couple… just in case.  I’ll come back and will show you what I decide upon and where I’ve found some good options.

Exercise

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “So I’m not going to have any boobs – do I really need a bra?

  1. What type of breast reconstruction are you having? I think I saw you write somewhere that you’ll have expanders. I would hold off on buying any bras (or hold on to the receipts).

    I recently underwent a PBM with expander placement and was told by my plastic surgeon that I shouldn’t and will never have to wear a bra again (maybe a sports bra while exercising). From the support perspective, you won’t really need one if you do expanders/implants. This was the proverbial “cherry on top” for me! If you’re interested in more info/reason why, check out my blog post on the topic: http://bilateralmastectomy.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/nipples/

    Of course, every person and surgeon is different, so best to ask yours as you are planning on doing anyway.

    Wishing you the best in the upcoming weeks. I hope everything goes well and once you are on the other side, your recovery is speedy, smooth, and complication-free!

    • Hello Mogatos,

      Thank you so much for your comment. I am having expanders. OK, I will hold onto the receipts, and maybe not buy as many as I was planning to! I love your post and that woman with her boobs in her pants almost made me spit my lunch out. It’s a comfort to know that this will never be me!

      Thank you for your kind words. I hope you too are doing well. How long are you since your op now? I’ll let you know what my surgeon says next week. To bra or not to bra?

      xxx

Leave a Reply

