Recipes to Freeze: Lentil and Tomato Soup

Those who know me will understand what a wrench it’s going to be for me, both physically and mentally, not being able to exercise following the op in a week and a bit. What’s more, whether I should be or not, I am worried about putting on weight afterwards as a result of not being able to exercise, or having as much control over my food.

Now I know, I know, I know that in the grand scheme of things, this isn’t important.  I’m not stupid, and I wouldn’t be going through all this if I was. However, I’m already removing two things that very much define me as a woman. I think it’s going to be hard enough to face the world and feel feminine with no boobs, let alone face the world carrying extra weight, AND with no boobs!

With this in mind my plan is to make and freeze a load of food that I can eat when I get home from hospital. To save Mr F the hassle and my waist from cheese and butter. Having done my research, unsurprisingly, a lot of recipes for the freezer actually contain a lot of cheese, butter and pasta.  Three amazing ingredients that are sadly, not necessarily your friend when living a largely sedentary life.

So, with the help of Chef F, tonight I turned to my trusty Weight Watchers and made their low-fat, Lentil and Tomato Soup.

Lentil and tomato soup http://www.weightwatchers.com.au/food/rcp/RecipePage.aspx?recipeid=74811

Prep should take 15 mins and cooking time is 30 mins – EASY

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • ¾ cup / 180g dried lentils
  • 400g whole tomato
  • 1 tsp chilly flakes (my addition)
  • 750ml vegetable stock

Instructions:

  • Combine the olive oil with half the garlic and put to the side.
  • Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Add the onion. Cook, stirring, for 5 minutes or until softened. Add the remaining garlic and the spices. Cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add the lentils, tomatoes and stock. Increase heat to medium. Bring to the boil. (How easy is this)
  • Reduce the heat to low. Cover. Simmer for 20 minutes or until the lentils are very soft, stirring occasionally.

Dah dah!!!!!!

soup

I am a big believer that unless you are a chef, professional photographer or food blogger, regular people’s food generally looks like vomit in pictures.  Recall if you can any restaurants you visited in Spain where the menu bypassed language restrictions by simply taking pictures of their dishes.  It all looked like different shades of dog food…

So whatever you think this looks like, this tastes lovely.  And now I have 3 healthy meals ready to freeze and defrost as needed. I’ll report back with pre-freeze meal number 2 later this week.

freezer

2 thoughts on “Recipes to Freeze: Lentil and Tomato Soup

  1. My girlfriend had this done a year ago. (www.greaterthanthesumofmyparts.wordpress.com)
    I can say she was slowly walking within a couple of days. If you are as tenacious as I think you are, and like my friend, I will tell you that the first thing she did when she woke up was willed herself to move. She claims it was her saving grace. (Yes, they were limited movements.)
    I can also tell you that freezing meals is a great idea. Obviously.
    We ran a five 5K about four months (???) after her surgery. Lite jogging mixed with walking, with a pretty serious sports bra. You will be fine! Chances are you will be eating very little anyways 🙂

    • Hello supernarch and thanks for getting in touch. I love your girlfriend’s home page. It’s such a great way to describe why we’re doing what we either have or are deciding to do. How is she doing at the moment? Has she just had her nipple reconstruction?
      It’s good to know that she was moving within a couple of days. I think I’m going to have to fight my boyfriend not to move to be honest – or at least I hope that’s the case anyway. It’s great that she ran a 5K within four months. I’m seeing my plastic surgeon on Thursday and am going to try to get to the bottom of the whole wearing a bra thing. Some people say I’m not going to have to ever, but I can’t imagine not having any support for a bouncing around!
      Have you guys got any suggestions for good meal ideas? I have a feeling I’m going to be a bit tired of spag bol and Shepherd’s Pie after a while. But to be honest, if someone else is cooking it for me I won’t be complaining! x

Leave a Reply

