Post-Mastectomy Commitments

Image

It’s really important for me, as the countdown ever looms, that I make commitments now about how I want things to be after my mastectomy.

I’m not naive. I realise that many things will be out of my control. Whether I’ll get an infection, how much pain I’ll be in or how quick my recovery will be.  I know that all of these things are out of my control.

What is within my control is my state of mind and how I respond to my situation.

Believe it or not, these past 3 months have been some of the happiest of my life. I’ve been focused on something much bigger than me, it’s easy to see what’s important and what’s not, I don’t sweat the small stuff as much and I’ve reconnected with friends I haven’t spoken to in years. Above all, I’ve had an amazing reminder of how wonderful the people in my life are, as well as the kindness of strangers.

But I’m keen that I don’t lose sight of all of this when I’m so desperately tired, or my chest feels like it’s in a vice, or I’m frustrated that I can’t do everything I was able to do before the op. So this is why I’m sharing my post-mastectomy commitments.  To serve as my promise and a very public reminder for how I want to, and how I should, think and act once my boobs have left the building:

I will not forget why I choose to remove my boobs and that it is the most positive decision I could have ever made

I will commit to progress!  Not measured on how I was before the operation, but to how I was yesterday

I will remember to smile at least once a day

I will relish in the kindness of others and thank my lucky stars that these people are in my life

I promise not to get frustrated and take it out on Mr F because he’s the closest person to me, but will remember how much he has sacrificed for me and supports me

I will not fall into a funk and will commit to expressing gratitude, for the obvious and the hidden, every single day

Leave a Reply

