Day One: Surgery Day

blogger

Mr F has told me that I’m only allowed to write a very short blog due to the fact that since I have come out of recovery, I have not stopped and have been bouncing off the walls.  So as he’s been amazing and I need him to do quite a lot for me, I am going to listen to him and limit this blog post to the highlights of today:

  • 5:50am: Alarm call – read messages on Facebook, cried
  • 6:45am: Got to hospital, paid $270 to get a room on my own – it’s more expensive than a posh Travelodge (p.s. I don’t actually have my own room at the moment despite this – but can’t be bothered to write about it)
  • Get changed into my gowns, me and Mr F debate whether I should wear pants for surgery or not. He wins, I put my pants back on
  • Go down to theatre and sit on a bed. About 3 mins later it’s time for Mr F to leave. This is much sooner than we thought. We say our goodbyes, he looks more worried than me. I am wheeled off
  • Starting to get hooked up when my plastic surgeon comes down to tell them he hasn’t marked me up yet.  I walk to a little room, protecting my modesty at my derriere, conscious that I wore terrible pants today. He marks me up with those really toxic pens that people in Merthyr Tydfil use on the weekend… The drugs begin
  • 8am: I’m back and a very charismatic, Maltese anesthetist comes to pump me up. He’s shouting at people to get all number of drugs and, before I know it, unknown substances are pouring into my body, via my hand
  • 08:10am: In the theatre, it’s freezing! It is now that I have a little ‘ARE YOU KIDDING ME’ moment. I have been the most positive patient in Randwick all morning so this is a contrast.  Have a pep talk with myself, which is aided by the anesthetic.  We debate whether I’m going to Miami or Cardiff… I choose Miami … OUT COLD
  • 12ishpm: Wake up in recovery and want to see Mr F. They won’t let me leave until my heart rate goes up – it’s at a worrying low level – I inform them that I am incredibly fit and so my resting heart rate is amazing, and low. After a while they buy this and move me to the ward
  • 3pm: Mr F is waiting for me, he expects me to be woozy, I’m high as a kite and so excited to see him.  Have my first glass of water in 17 hours. The water goes through the gas tubes in my nose
  • I have a support bandage on my chest – looks like one of the boob tubes I was fond of wearing to Astoria when I was 17. Two drains coming out my armpits. A morphine button to my left – ACE
  • Mr F sets me up for any eventuality – WI Fi hot spot, iPad, Heat magazine, mobile phone, laptop

  • 5pm: I get a little Hangry. It’s been 20 hours since I’ve eaten anything. I also start telling Mr F that for breakfast tomorrow I’d like a skimmed latte with fruit and yoghurt for breakfast. He sighs – this is going to be the cue for when I push it.  Note to self, don’t piss off the carer
  • 5:45pm: FOOD! Chicken soup (reminds me of uni), small cheese sandwich, vanilla slice and a cup of tea. Mr F has a sandwich and half the vanilla slice
  • I crash for a second. Food had made me realise pain.  I cry for 2 seconds, press the switch of pain relief love, am happy again
  • 6:30ishpm: I decide to write a blog post. Mr F is not that impressed. My breast surgeon comes to see me. He is impressed, for him, this is a positive thing. He’s going to check on me over the next few days to see if my nipples look like they’re going to survive… Good luck nipples!
  • 6:45pm: I tell Mr F to leave as a) I want to write my blog post and b) I feel bad, he’s been here a while and has done at least 48 patient duties – which he has excelled at I might add
  • Mr F goes to leave and I start crying. Oh

And here I am. Nearly 12 hours with no boobs and everything is OK. I feel like I’ve done one million push ups and my range of movement is really limited, but my head is good and at this moment in time, there’s no regrets.

Back tomorrow. (p.s. this blog aint short, sorry)

18 thoughts on “Day One: Surgery Day

      • Great accessories, huh? Guard those drain lines! I remember the first time I left my drain reservoir on the counter and just walked away, forgetting about it … ouch. Or the time one of the lines got snagged on a door knob. Sorry, I’ll stop now. 🙂

        I’m doing great, thanks! I’m happy to report that it does get better every day. That giant elephant sitting on your chest slowly shrinks until it’s just a tiny kitten. 🙂 Two months post-op now and yes, back at work.

        Looking forward to more of your updates. Speedy and uneventful recovery!

  1. you are amazing. i was delirious for at least a full 24 hours after the surgery, then cried the entire day after that. i didn’t touch my laptop or phone until five days after!!

      • yeah, it’s the whole “get rest” – ok, then stop waking me up every hour – like a chicken and egg scenario. i had tissue transfer so that lasted four days and nights for me!! sounds like you’re doing great though! and a crash is good – passes the time in the hospital and gets you to home quicker!

  2. Hey sweet, have I ever told you how awesome you are!!! I have been dribbling out of my nose just reading this. Really glad to see you’re in high spirits and everything is going well with the op. And if anyone knows what a million push ups feel like it’s you…cos you’ve probably actually done it before. So…about that morphine button…can you do hook ins hahaha 🙂 xxxxx

    • what’s coming out your nose!?
      yes the press ups have now cobined with 50,000 clean and press and 12 hours of the plank. still not using tje morphine button very much apparenly. i personally feel like a junky.
      thanks for being nice x

  3. Hey Trish , Just sending you my love. You are amazing, inspirational and your blog is hilarious – i can actually hear your voice as I am reading it. Gold. Thinking of you. Keep the blog coming. Ruski (n2n) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  4. The thing I was most worried about was not being able to have caffeine! I had my husband and other friends lined up to bring it to me as soon as I was back in my room. I needn’t have worried about having a caffeine headache – it turns out that morphine is a great way to prevent all kinds of pain – who knew??

    • I hear you Deborah. My friend came this am on the condition she brought a skimmed latte and granola. Sge did very well. Although I am struggling to sleep which js very unlike me so perhaps i should keep it on the downlow?
      How was your sleep after your op?
      x

Leave a Reply

