About Me

me

Find me on Twitter: @boobschoppedoff

About two years ago, I discovered I had a genetic mutation, called BRCA2 that means I am predisposed to certain types of cancer. Figures say I could be 60 – 80% more likely to get breast cancer and 20 – 40% more likely to get ovarian cancer in my lifetime. What’s more the types of cancer often associated with this gene fault can often be aggressive and resistant to treatment. My mother was 43 when she was diagnosed with breast cancer and 46 when she passed away, my gran died from cancer at the age of 50, as did my uncle from prostate cancer.

So as the saying goes, knowledge is power, and I am using the knowledge I have to try and prolong my life. In a few weeks I will undergo surgery to have a preventative mastectomy, which will reduce my chances of breast cancer by 90%.

This blog is my way of making sense of it all, for me, and anyone else who may stumble across this. I by no means see this as a medical guide for anyone, but it may give some insight into at least one option for women in the same situation.
knowledge is power

8 thoughts on “About Me

  1. A consequence of progress in breast cancer research is that many of us find ourselves getting treatment even though we don’t feel sick or in your case, have no evidence of current disease. As a breast cancer patient for the last 10 months, it has required a lot of trust to go through treatments that make me feel sick. I believe that my trust was well placed and it sounds very much like yours is,as well.

  2. It takes courage to make your decision but with your family history I can totally understand why you would do it.. I wish you well now you are home and that you get stronger everyday.. I to love the search engine requests that one gets some of them are very amusing… One became the title of a post for me ” beautiful node lady!”

    • Thank you. Sometimes I feel as though I’ve been a bit dramatic, but it’s the right decision for me. I do too.
      I love ‘beautiful node lady’! How nice is that. Who needs flowers with those words x

    • You are AMAZING!
      Thank you so much. That’s so, so kind of you.
      I’m so sorry it’s taken so long for me to reply. (see most recent post). Have been struggling a bit. Not in a massive way, but just struggling to keep my head above water and have been struggling to think what to write.
      I will very gratefully accept and will do aall the things I need to do to accept it on Sunday I promise.
      How are you? Your fills look good? x

Leave a Reply

