Everyday Things That Are Different Since Having A Mastectomy: #2 Cockroaches

I live in Australia so cockroaches are just something you have to get used to. It’s not because you’re dirty, or don’t clean, it’s just one of those things. So imagine my (boob) pain when I had the pleasure of spotting my first post-mastectomy cockroach crawling on the sofa arm, NEXT TO MY HEAD.

Yes, gross isn’t it. And for me, painful. (because I jumped  about 10 feet off the ground and I don’t know if you are aware, but I just had a serious operation?)

Now imagine my disgust, and yes, (boob) pain, when after we fumigated above and beneath the sofa, and I sat down, the said cockroach crawled  all over my back…!

That is all.

Oh no. p.s. My boyfriend told me off for reacting too much.

Cockroach

5 thoughts on “Everyday Things That Are Different Since Having A Mastectomy: #2 Cockroaches

      • U.S. cockroaches vary in size. The Florida “Palmetto Bugs” are huge! North Carolina cockroaches are more petite. And you are a Tarheel, what a surprise! I earned my Ph.D. At University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, which is quite near Durham.

  1. I live in Australia too and yes cockroaches are part of life.. My first encounter on moving here from England was very funny as my flat mate barricaded herself in the bathroom with a towel pushed against the bottom of the door.. I was left to get rid of the beast!! I was ok till it flew at me and I was banging on the bathroom door to be let in too!!!.. LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

